Tell a Full Story

You can use the web browser on your computer or mobile device to Tell a Full Story. Telling Full Stories is part of the Tell Your Story® process, and can be started from a StoryAnywhere Task or from the Stories tab in PeopleSafe.


From the Stories Tab

To tell a story:

  1. Click Stories in the top menu bar. 
  2. If you have Standard Staff security clearance the process will start straight away.
  3. For Users with Manage User or PeopleSafe Coordinator security clearance you'll need to click Tell Full Story on the right of the dashboard.

Tip

To Tell a Full story that links to a StoryAnywhere Task, in the StoryAnywhere Task, click  Tell Full Story on the bottom right of the screen.

Select the things your Story is about

  1. From the What's the Story? screen, click all the things your Story is about.

Enter the Story Details

  1. Enter the details of the story following the on-screen questions. Add enough detail to your story so the people reading it will have a clear picture of what happened. If you don't have all the information to answer a question give it your best guess or the most likely information as it can be added to or changed later when the story is reviewed.
  2. Click Next to add the next story details.
  3. To start again at any stage click Cancel, this will delete all the details you've added, and you'll be taken back to the What's the Story? screen. Click Back to go back one page. 
  4. Your story is only submitted when you see an end screen that says Complete. 

Note: Your organisation has set up PeopleSafe to suit the work you do. If options are missing choose the closest fit.
Some answers are compulsory and you will not be able to go to the next step until they are completed. These will be highlighted in red. 

End Screen shown Completed

  1. Your story has been saved and added as a Story Record in the Stories section in PeopleSafe.
  2. A Story Review Task is automatically created and notification sent to your boss or manager and PeopleSafe Coordinator.
  3. The end screen may have some next steps displayed. Please follow your Organisation's internal process for dealing with stories.
  4. If your Story meets the, 'Is Serious', triggers you will see additional instructions and a summary of why this screen is being shown. It's important to talk to your boss if you see this screen and follow your internal processes for serious stories.   Additional notification emails and text messages will have been created and sent to people in your Organisation. 

More about Tell Full Story 

  • Using PeopleSafe to tell a story means there's now a record of what's happened. The story is assessed by the software on how serious it is from the details you have entered. It checks if it's a notifiable event or injury. It creates notifications to your boss and your PeopleSafe Coordinator. It provides the organisation with information that will help you to make work safer. 
  • If you need to update a Story you've told, this can be done as part of the Story Review Process.
  • If you can't finish the story because it won't save go back and check you've entered details into all the required boxes. 
  • The story type ( this refers to the things your story is about)  cannot be changed after the story has been told. 
  • If you've told a story that just involves a risk and then can't find that story, it's because Stories that only involve a Risk are added directly to your Risks section which can be found on the Safety Plans dashboard.
  • To add attachments (e.g. photos) to a story, the story has to first be reviewed by someone with Coordinator or Manage Users security clearance. After that, the story can be edited to include attachments.
  • If you have had an accident, and there are lots of people involved (e.g. injured person, first aider, witness, doctor etc), they can all be added to the story.  At the bottom of the Who was Involved? screen click YES to the Question: Was anyone else Involved. When you click Next there will be more questions about who was involved.
  • If there's a temporary risk (e.g. brought in by a contractor), the story should still be told and plans made to make work safe as normal, then add a note that once the contractor leaves, the hazard is gone.
  • To print a story, click on the reviewed story you want to print, scroll down to the bottom of the page and then press the print button.
  • I'm getting a 'Could not find or load that Task' error message when I click on the link in the email to review the story. What does it mean? There are three main reasons why this error message might show up.

    1.  The story has already been reviewed so the review has been completed. Multiple people may have access the story or have been tasked to view it. Disregard the task notification.
    2.  The receiver of the task doesn't have the correct security clearance or visibility of the story teller so will not be able to access the task. Check the users security clearance to confirm. Regard the task as a        notification of incident and not a requirement to complete the task.
    3.  The review task has been deleted and the story has not yet been reviewed. You'll still need to review the story even though the task has been deleted. You'll find a review button next to the story when in          the smart-list view of all stories.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still Stuck? Email the Help Team Email the Help Team