Find, Edit or Complete a StoryAnywhere Task

If you've been sent an email about a StoryAnywhere Task, or simply want to see all your StoryAnywhere Tasks, you can find your tasks, edit or complete them in PeopleSafe using your web browser. StoryAnywhere Tasks are part of the Tell Your Story® process. 

In this article: 


Find a StoryAnywhere Task

There are a couple of ways to find StoryAnywhere Tasks. 

The link in the email from PeopleSafe Notifications

The link in the email you received from PeopleSafe Notifications will take you directly to the task in PeopleSafe.

  1. Open the email you received from PeopleSafe Notifications, it will have the Subject - StoryAnywhere [ keyword ]  sent by [Name] ...
  2. Click the link in the body of the email, this will open the task in your web browser.
  3. Login to PeopleSafe if you're not already.

Your Task list

Find the task you want to see from your task list.

  1. Click the Tasks icon in the top menu bar.
  2. Use the Smart-list to find the Task you want to open, then click View to see full details.

The Stories Dashboard

If you've got PeopleSafe Coordinator or Manage Users Security clearance you can also find the task from your Stories dashboard.

  1. Click Stories in the top menu bar.
  2. Choose the StoryAnywhere Tasks option that best suits what you are looking for.
  3. Use the Smart-list to find the Task you want to see, click View to see full details.

If you can't find the StoryAnywhere Task

  • Check the filters on your task list to make sure under My Tasks/All Tasks: All Tasks is selected and under Status: All is selected.
  • Check with your Manager or PeopleSafe Coordinator that they have given you access to the StoryAnywhere Task.  (Your name needs to be selected under: Give to these People).

Edit a StoryAnywhere Task

There are two ways to get to the edit screen of a StoryAnywhere Task. You can edit from: 

The Smart-list

  1. In the Action Column, use the drop-down menu to either: 
    • Click View to see the task before you edit it, or
    • Hover over the View button and click Edit to go straight to the edit screen.
  2. Make your changes. 
  3. Click Save, to save your changes or click Cancel if you don't wish to save them.

The StoryAnywhere Task

  1. Click the Options menu, in the top right of the Task screen.
  2. Click Edit.
  3. Make your changes. 
  4. Click Save, to save your changes or click Cancel if you don't wish to save them.

TIP: You can add notes and attach files by clicking the Add Note and Attach File buttons in the body of the task when in the edit screen.


Complete a StoryAnywhere Task

You can complete a StoryAnywhere Task in one click from  the StoryAnywhere Task screen or by clicking Tell Full Story on the StoryAnywhere Task screen and telling a full story.

Complete in one click

  1. Go to the StoryAnywhere Task you want to complete 
  2. Click Complete at the bottom of the screen. 

You'll be taken back to the Smart-list for StoryAnywhere Tasks.  Once completed a StoryAnywhere Task can no longer be edited.  You can however always come back to a completed StoryAnywhere Task and Tell a Full Story.

Complete using Tell Full Story 

  1. Go to the StoryAnywhere Task you want to complete.
  2. Click Tell Full Story, in the bottom right. 
  3. Choose all the things your story is about by clicking on the words in the list, click Next.
  4. Enter the full details of the story following the on-screen questions.
  5. Once you've done this, the StoryAnywhere Task is marked as complete. 

More about StoryAnywhere Tasks

  • A StoryAnywhere Task is created and notifications are sent every time people in your Organisation use the StoryAnywhere feature that is part of the Tell Your Story® Process.
  • StoryAnywhere Tasks can only be created using the Mobile App or by sending a text message to 4164.
  • Completing StoryAnywhere Tasks is part of the risk management process in your Organisation.
  • When you receive a StoryAnywhere Task you'll need to follow your Organisation's internal process for completing StoryAnywhere Tasks.
  • When multiple people get the same StoryAnywhere Task you will need to decide who is responsible for completing it.
  • You can edit the Due Date, the people that have been given the Task and Completion Status. You can also add Notes and Attachments from the Edit screen.
  • If you can't find the task, it is most likely you have not been given it, or no longer have access to it.  Your PeopleSafe Coordinator can help give you access. The task might also have been deleted or deactivated.
  • If you are a PeopleSafe Coordinator and cannot see the task make sure you have selected the filters to show under My Tasks/All Tasks:  All Tasks and under Status: All.
  • If users aren't getting the expected notifications and access, check the organisation section in their profile is set up correctly.
  • You can use the Smart-lists or search field to filter what tasks you're seeing.
  • If you use Tell Full Story from a StoryAnywhereTask it will be added under Related Tasks in the Full Story detail.
  • While it is possible to delete StoryAnywhere Tasks, this is not recommended, rather complete them.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still Stuck? Email the Help Team Email the Help Team