FAQs - User Accounts
What is a User Account?
A User Account in PeopleSafe is what is used to describe the way a person gets access to login to PeopleSafe
I am connected to lots of sites, how do I get 'All Organisations' access to view everything at once?
All Organisations is a view in PeopleSafe for people who have Coordinator Security Clearance across EVERY site they are connected to. It is great for creating reports and when you want to see all the information you have access to in one view.
Why can't I see a staff member or Friend's personal details?
If the person's personal details are blanked out then you don't have permission to view them.
As a basic rule you'll never be able to see a Friend's personal details and you'll only be able to view and edit a staff member's details if you added them into your organisation via ADD NEW or if you requested their details using the CONNECT process and they accepted your request.
If you've sent a connect request and still can't see their details you'll need to go back to the person to check whether they've accepted or declined you request. You'll know if the person has restricted their personal details if in the place of those details is a message saying 'You do not have access to this person's details'. The message may be followed with 'Access Request Pending'.
My staff member has forgotten their password, but I don’t have access to edit their profile and they don't have an email to reset their own password? What's happened?
Two things have happened for this to occur:
- You don’t have access to edit your staff member’s User Profile because they have changed their Privacy Settings. This means you'll have the ability to view their details but not edit them or you won't see any of their details (it may say RESTRICTED ACCESS).
- Your staff member has forgotten their password but doesn’t have an email address in the Best contact email address field. This means PeopleSafe can’t send them a Password reset token. Unfortunately, the only solution is to deactivate the staff member and create a new person profile for them. Make sure that the new profile you create has an email address in the Best contact email address field, and note: You will need to have a different username to the previous one.
What are the different email address fields for in my User Profile?
Best Email Address: This email address field is where your password reset tokens and any other password type correspondence will be sent. For some people their work email is best, for others their personal email address is more accessible.
Work Email: This email address field is where task alerts and other notifications to do with the organisation/s you are connected to will be sent. If you have Coordinator Security Clearance in PeopleSafe this email will be used to send you Story Alerts and Serious Harm notifications. If you don't have a work email address then feel free to use a secure email address you know will get through to you, like your personal email address.
In the User Profile I click on the training done, why does it take me to the training course and not the training record of when the person completed it?
Aha! Trick for young players. When you click on the name of the training course it will direct to you to the Training Course. However when you click on the date the training was completed (right next to the training course name) it will direct you to the record of the training completed.
How do I manage temp staff?
Temporary staff can be handled the same way as permanent staff; if/when their contract ends just deactivate them. They will then appear on your list of Inactive Staff, and you can simply activate them again if necessary.
I've recently connected a new staff member and now I can't see their personal details? What's happened and how do I fix that?
The staff member is able to control the visibility of this information. The solution is to ask the staff member to login; click on the Connect Requests icon (that's the little 'head and shoulders' icon besides their name at the top of the screen). The staff member must then accept your Connect Request on the Connect Requests page. If they have already accepted the request then ask them to check the Privacy Settings are set to "View & Edit".
How do I get Alerts and Reminders?
- First a PeopleSafe Coordinator will need to select PeopleSafe to auto-generate these tasks. They can do this from Settings in 'Our Organisation'.
- Next you'll will need to have an email address entered into the Work Email field of your profile to receive PeopleSafe alerts and reminders. Only a PeopleSafe Coordinator can add information information in the Company section of your profile.
Go to My Profile >Options> Edit and enter your work email address into the Work Email field (you may have to click "Show More Details" to access it). Then scroll to the bottom and click Save.